DIY Inspo: Creative Walls

A creative wall project has been on my radar for some time and I am currently deciding on which wall and what style. I am not personally a huge fan of plain colour block painted feature walls but there is something I love about a wall feature created with art, patterns and exposed textures such bricks, wallpaper, murals and wood etc. If you are in Australia and have watched any of the home reno reality TV shows, such as The Block or House Rules, you will no doubt have noticed the use of these different mediums. I think creating such walls requires taking risks, and the confidence to be bold, but the results are worth it. Here are a collection of ideas I have been admiring, browsing and inspired by. I will keep you posted with my creative wall outcomes!

For this post you can click each picture to be taken to it’s source.

 Wood (new & reclaimed)                                                                                                             

I think there is something quite calming and relaxing about including raw and natural elements in the home.

9129a9a98e2c43fcdcf95ccf78cacf21

Slowpoke-Cafe-Sasufi-3_rect540

 wood wall bed

Books                                                                                                                                                                   

Practical, functional and adds interest.

books

books2

Book Wall

 Wallpaper                                                                                                                                                            

Most people tend to either love or hate wallpaper. I was undecided for some time but I think wallpaper designs, and quality of printing, has improved so much that they can be incredibly effective. I think this concrete look wallpaper is quite amazing. I have also discovered through my browsing that you can now buy many types of removable wallpaper and murals – no messy gluing required and perfect for rentals! You can find some suggested links for wallpaper stockists at the end of this post.

concrete look wallpaper

Woods Wallpaper

reclaimed wood look wallpaper

I am loving the reclaimed wood wallpaper effect.

reclaimed wood

blogfeaturewall1

woods

vintage

Stripes

Photography

Whilst many of us display photographs in our homes I love that these ideas below take over an entire wall and really ensure the photos command attention. It creates such visual interest and I’m sure initiates  conversation. Most of us loves stories. I often think how many of my favourite photographs now rarely make it off Instagram. This is definitely on my to do list. There is an excellent post and tutorial here about how to  create this look (shown in the first image) from the lovely blog A Beautiful Mess.

insta polaroid photo wall

photo wall large scale

insta photos

Murals

Perfect for opening up a small room, bringing the outside in or creating a talking point of interest.

world-map-wallpaper-living-room

This forest mural below is very affordable, with other designs available at Urban Outfitters

24264079_095_b

Chalkboard Walls

Whilst chalkboard walls are quite simple and have been popular for some time now I have included them because they are by far one of the  easiest and most cost effective ways to transform a room. I have painted one in my kitchen and I love it’s practicality for shopping lists and fun messages. If you would like to see more chalkboard walls there are 45 for you to browse here!

chalkboard-walls-27

chalkboard 1

Quirky                                                                                                                                                                              

Last but not least I wanted to include this last image which I think is pure genius. It is a pet hate of mine to have power cords running visible around a room but this may have just changed my mind! Love it!

OLD-YARN-KILIM

Links to Wallpaper & Mural Stockists

The Wall Sticker Company

Removable Wallpaper

Pickawall

Scandinavian Wall Paper Décor

Euro Walls

5 thoughts on “DIY Inspo: Creative Walls

    • Oh thanks Lou! Hols have been great, I’ve loved catching up with my little nieces. :) Hope you have had fun holidays, I’m sure Teddy will tell me all about his adventures :)

  1. Pingback: Pop goes the wall! Using wallpaper to give rooms a style boost | Spotlighting

Leave a Reply

