Upcycle: Yes Deer, Footrest

For some time now I have loved deers. I was very excited quite a few years back when they started making an appearance in luxe and high-end interiors as such trends always filter down into the mainstream. I suppose they have been used for decor for centuries really featuring on the walls in elaborate rooms of wealthy estate or as centrepiece in the macho hunters games room but I should clarify I am more referring to the deer’s image or symbol being used in decorating as opposed to having a dead one hung on my wall! Not so much into that. I’d rather them be prancing around the forest. Ah makes me cringe thinking of that scene in Bambi. I am not sure why it is that I like them so much. I just think they are beautiful and seem so fragile and whimsical whilst strong and sturdy at the same time.

Screen shot 2013-06-19 at 10.50.59 PM

Top left to right; Image 1   Image 2    Image 3   Image 4

One piece of art I would love to buy is Charmaine Olivia’s Deer In Gym Socks; I love it.

Screen shot 2013-06-19 at 10.22.28 PM

Anyhow regardless of why I like them this upcycled piece I am sharing was inspired by some deer print fabric that a found ages ago and fell in love with. Usually it’s the piece of furniture I find that inspires me but I knew on finding this fabric I needed to find a use for it.

Screen shot 2013-06-19 at 10.59.47 PM

Then came another one of those delightful mahogany pieces and I found this stool/footrest.

before piano stool

I used a paint stripper initially to get the varnish off and then sanded. I deliberately wanted it to have a raw look finish as I felt this would go with the style of fabric and nature element. I left some bits darker and lighter but made sure it was a smooth surface all over. Finally I covered the seat with my chosen fabric, remember when doing this with a print fabric to ensure the pattern it central and not twisted. I was going to seal with a clear varnish initially but I liked the rawness of the finish so much I left it! It lives in my hallway for now and it is a very handy place to put my bag after work or for sitting on to pop my shoes on!

Piano stool

4 thoughts on “Upcycle: Yes Deer, Footrest

Leave a Reply

